2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

3		Distr	ibuti	on o	f Pref	eren	ces (Coun	tshe	et					
electoral commission NSW		Electoral District				Monaro									
		Election Day:			26 March 2011										
Current as at :	Count 1	Count 2 GRAF Deanne		Count 3 WARBURTON Kingsley		Count 4 COCKRAM Paul									
4/04/2011 18:04		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded									
		618	Votes	1267	Votes	3708	Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
WHAN Steve (Country Labor)	18,381	67	18,448	201	18,649	1,529	20,178								
WARBURTON Kingsley (Independent)	1,218	49	1,267												
COCKRAM Paul (The Greens)	3,524				3,708										
BARILARO John (Nationals)	21,134			207			21,918		ELECTED						
GRAF Deanne (Christian Democratic Party)	618														
Total Formal Votes	44,875	383	44,640	572	43,945	1,859	42,096								
Exhausted Votes		235	235	695	930	1,849	2,779								
Total Informal Votes	1,083		1,083		1,083		1,083								
Total Votes	45,958	618	45958	1267	45958	3708	45958								
Absolute Majority:	22,438]	22,321]	21,973		21,049]	
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
BARILARO John (Nationals) will be electe	d														
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature			l	Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signatu	re			Date	I				1				
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			