## **2011 State General Election**

## Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

## **Preferential Count explanation**

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

## **Distribution of Preferences Countsheet**

З

		Electoral D	District		Maroubra										
S S		Election Day:			26 March 2011										
												•			
Current as at :	Count 1	Co	unt 2	Co	unt 3										
2/04/2011 20:07		SHIHA Jacquie Excluded		MATSON Murray Excluded											
		884	Votes	4504	Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
DALEY Michael (Labor)	20,019	137	20,156	1,774	21,930		ELECTED								
MATSON Murray (The Greens)	4,504	0	4,504												
SHIHA Jacquie (Christian Democratic Party)	884														
FENELEY Michael (Liberal)	19,737	266	20,003	604	20,607										
Total Formal Votes	45.144	403	44.663	2.378	42.537										
Exhausted Votes		481	481	2,126	2,607										
Total Informal Votes	1,359		1,359		1,359										
Total Votes	46,503	884	46503	4504	46503										
	00 570	1	00.000	1	04.000			1		I		1			
Absolute Majority:	22,573	1	22,332		21,269			l							
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
DALEY Michael (Labor) will be elected							ן								
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signature				Date									í.
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB									Scrutineer Signature			Scrutineer Signature			