2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

3

Celectoral		Electoral D	istrict		Fairfiel	d									
S	Election Day:				26 March 2011										
Current as at :	Count 1	Co	unt 2	Count 3		Count 4		Count 5		Count 6		Count 7			
		OLAYA Daicy Excluded 329 Votes		HARRIS Linda Excluded 1091 Votes		AL-YASIRY Ahmad Excluded 1303 Votes		BALL David Excluded 1599 Votes		NASR Eileen Excluded 2514 Votes		NIELSEN Annie Excluded 3358 Votes			
4/04/2011 15:55															Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes		PROGRESSIVE TOTALS											VOTES DISTRIBUTED	
SALIBA Charbel (Liberal)	16,657	14	16,671	36	16,707	102	16,809	90	16,899	710	17,609	321	17,930		
ZANGARI Guy (Labor)	17,858	26				126	18,097	101	18,198						ELECTED
HARRIS Linda	1,074	17	1,091												
NIELSEN Annie (The Greens)	2,890	42	2,932	89	3,021	49	3,070	132	3,202	156	3,358				
OLAYA Daicy (Socialist Alliance)	329														
AL-YASIRY Ahmad (Independent)	1,281	6	1,287	16	1,303										
NASR Eileen (Christian Democratic Party)	2,332	7	2,339	19	2,358	30	2,388	126	2,514						
BALL David (Independent)	1,489	9	1,498	46	1,544	55	1,599								
Total Formal Votes	43,910	121	43,702	293	42,904	362	41,963	449	40,813	1,026	39,325	1,152	37,119		
Exhausted Votes		208	208	798	1,006	941	1,947	1,150	3,097	1,488	4,585	2,206	6,791		
Total Informal Votes	3,061		3,061		3,061		3,061		3,061		3,061		3,061		
Total Votes	46,971	329	46971	1091	46971	1303	46971	1599	46971	2514	46971	3358	46971		
Absolute Majority:	21,956		21,852		21,453		20,982		20,407		19,663]	18,560)	
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
ZANGARI Guy (Labor) will be elected															
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signatu	re			Date					1				1
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			