## 2011 State General Election

## **Legislative Assembly**

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

## **Preferential Count explanation**

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



BURNEY Stuart (Independent)

DORAN Sue (The Greens)

(Liberal)

PEARCE Paul (Labor)

JONES Nathan (Independent)

McGOWAN Andrew (Christian Democratic Party)

NOTLEY-SMITH Bruce

Current as at :

4/04/2011 15:53

Candidates

SE.523L

Count 1

## **Distribution of Preferences Countsheet**

Coogee 26 March 2011 Count 2 Count 3 Count 4 Count 5 McGOWAN Andrew JONES Nathan DORAN Sue **BURNEY Stuart** Excluded Excluded Excluded Excluded 581 Votes 897 Votes 1194 Votes 9913 Votes Votes Votes Votes VOTES DISTRIBUTED PROGRESSIVE TOTALS VOTES DISTR 868 29 897 581 9,449 31 9,480 140 9,620 293 9,913 20,224 156 20,380 60 20,440 247 20,687 1,300 21,987 **ELECTED** 10,828 43 10,871 52 10,923 153 11,076 4,686 15,762 956 24 980 214 1,194

Total Formal Votes	42,906	283	42,608	466	42,177	693	41,676	5,986	37,749				
Exhausted Votes		298	298	431	729	501	1,230	3,927	5,157				
Total Informal Votes	1,035		1,035		1,035		1,035		1,035				
Total Votes	43,941	581	43941	897	43941	1194	43941	9913	43941				
Absolute Majority:	21,454	] [	21,305		21,089		20,839		18,875				
				•									
Congratulations, distribution complete.													
										_			_
NOTLEY-SMITH Bruce (Liberal) will be elected													
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature			Scrutineer Signature		J
		Returning Officer Signature	e			Date				_			_
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature		J	Scrutineer Signature		J