The New South Wales Electoral Commission Virtual Tally Room contains election results for the 2011 Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council elections.


Link to electoral boundaries for NSW since 1856

Welcome to the NSWEC Virtual Tally Room (VTR) for the NSW State Election 2011. This web site commences operating at 6pm on Saturday 26 March 2011 with the first results likely to be displayed from 6:30pm and most election night results in by 11pm.

The VTR contains results for both the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.

Sub menus on the left provide links to information about each election (Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council). Results on these pages are updated when new results are entered or when an election is given a new status.

The Legislative Assembly

The Legislative Assembly consists of 93 electoral districts. A member is elected for a 4 year term. Electors in each district vote for one member to represent them in the Legislative Assembly.

The Legislative Council

The Legislative Council consists of 42 members. Each member is elected for up to 8 years or two terms of the Parliament. At each State election, half these members retire and an election is held for 21 positions. All electors vote for these 21 members.

Count of Votes (Distribution of Preferences)

Legislative Assembly

There will be cases where the result is clear once all first preference votes and two candidate preferred (TCP) results are available, and a distribution of preferences will not be required. Where a distribution of preferences is necessary, the count will be conducted locally by the returning officer.

Legislative Council

The Legislative Council count (the more complex) is conducted at the NSWEC Legislative Council Count Centre in Sydney.

Legislative Council Count Centre

Legislative Council ballot papers are counted at the NSWEC's Central Count Centre at Riverwood in Sydney. Approximately 4.5 million Legislative Council ballot papers ( the large ballot paper) from all over the state will be sent there following the election.

The ballot papers arrive sorted by those marked above the line and those marked below the line within each polling place or declaration type (eg absent votes) The voting preferences on the ballot papers will be entered twice into our computer system to ensure accuracy. It is anticipated this process will be completed on or before 8 April.

The computer application does the complex proportional representation count to elect the 21 Members.