## 2011 State General Election

## **Legislative Assembly**

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

## **Preferential Count explanation**

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.





## **Distribution of Preferences Countsheet**

Electoral District Wollongong
Election Day: 26 March 2011

Current as at :	Count 1	1 Count 2		Count 3		Count 4		Count 5							
		PRATT Clarrie		CLABOUR Jim		COOK Brendan		BLICAVS Michelle							
2/04/2011 23:31		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded							
		1127	Votes	1190	Votes	4423	Votes	9988	Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
COOK Brendan (The Greens)	4,315	21	4,336	87	4,423										
BLICAVS Michelle (Liberal)	9,124	368	9,492	90	9,582	406	9,988								
HAY Noreen (Labor)	16,060	67	16,127	112	16,239	842	17,081	1,004	18,085		ELECTED				
CLABOUR Jim (Independent)	1,143	47	1,190												
PRATT Clarrie (Christian Democratic Party)	1,127														
BRADBERY Gordon (Independent)	13,299	151	13,450	249	13,699	1,086	14,785	2,626	17,411						
Total Formal Votes	45,068	654	44,595	538	43,943	2,334	41,854	3,630	35,496						
Exhausted Votes		473	473	652	1,125	2,089	3,214	6,358	9,572						
Total Informal Votes	1,752		1,752		1,752		1,752		1,752						
Total Votes	46,820		46820	1190											
Absolute Majority:	22,535	]	22,298		21,972		20,928	]	17,749					]	
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
HAY Noreen (Labor) will be elected							1								
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
•	Returning Officer Signature					Date	J								
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature			J	Scrutineer Signature			<u> </u>