2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after the first preference count.

A full distribution of preferences was not undertaken and it is not possible to definitively state which two candidates would be the last two candidates in the count, should a distribution of preferences have been undertaken. The Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count can only be taken as a definitive distribution if the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

ЗГ

Celectoral		Electoral District				Wagga Wagga									
S					26 March 2011										
Current as at :	Count 1														
5/04/2011 16:45															
3/04/2011 10.45		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes	
Candidates	First Preference Votes		PROGRESSIVE TOTALS												
MAGUIRE Daryl (Liberal)															
	24,393		ELECTED												
McGIRR Joe (Independent)	13,960														
MULHOLLAND Sylvia (Christian Democratic Party)	1,070														
PRANGNELL Ros (The Greens)	1,527														
ELLIOTT-RUDDER Glenn (Labor)	4,609														
Total Formal Votes	45,559														
Exhausted Votes															
Total Informal Votes	1,028														
Total Votes	46,587														
Absolute Majority:	22,780]													
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
MAGUIRE Daryl (Liberal) will be elected															
provided no recount required.						/ / Scrutineer Signature						Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signature Date						n			¢.	·			
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			