2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



ဗ္ဗ
5
шi
S

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

Electoral District Toongabbie
Election Day: 26 March 2011

		20 Mai 011 2011													
Current as at :	Count 1	Count 2 KUMAR Ashok		Count 3 READ Michele		Count 4 PRENTICE Brendon		Count 5 JOHNSON Peter		Cor	unt 6				
										HOBBS Len					
4/04/2011 18:22		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded			Excluded		Excluded				
		624 Votes		1021 Votes		2076 Votes		2501 Votes		2722 Votes		Votes		Votes	
		UZ-T	70100	1021	VOICO	20.0	Votes	2001	Votos	2.22	70100		Votos		70100
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
JOHNSON Peter (Shooters and Fishers)	2,346	11	2,357	58	2,415	86	2,501								
LLOYD Kirsty (Liberal)	17,889	82	17,971	95	18,066	813	18,879	569	19,448	336	19,784				
PRENTICE Brendon (Christian Democratic Party)	2,016	16	2,032	44	2,076										
KUMAR Ashok (Independent)	624														
READ Michele (Independent)	942	79	1,021												
HOBBS Len (The Greens)	2,367	29	2,396	127	2,523	54	2,577	145	5 2,722						
REES Nathan (Labor)	18,340	93	18,433	80	18,513	186	18,699	271	18,970	1,019	19,989		ELECTED		
Total Formal Votes	44,524	310	44,210	404	43,593	1,139	42,656	985	41,140	1,355	39,773				
lotai Formai votes	44,324									·					
Exhausted Votes		314	314	617	931	937	1,868	1,516	3,384	1,367	4,751				
Total Informal Votes	1,671		1,671		1,671		1,671		1,671		1,671				
Total Votes	46,195	624	46195	1021	46195	2076	46195	2501	46195	2722	46195				
Total Votes	,														
		1		1				1				1		1	
Absolute Majority:	22,263	J	22,106		21,797		21,329	J	20,571		19,887	J		J	
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
DEES Nothan (Labor) will be also to d							1				1				1
REES Nathan (Labor) will be elected															
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature			J	Scrutineer Signature			l
		Returning Officer Signatu	ire			Date	J								
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
10.550. 1.7.0 ETTEREVIO I D								эвинов эциине			J	эвинов эциине			1