## 2011 State General Election

## **Legislative Assembly**

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

## **Preferential Count explanation**

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



ន
Š
띯
•

## **Distribution of Preferences Countsheet**

Electoral District

Sydney

Election Day:

26 March 2011

Current as at :	Count 1	Cou	ınt 2	Co	unt 3	Cou	ınt 4	Cor	unt 5	Cou	ınt 6				
		SHEN Victor		MADDEN Peter		PATTERSON Andrew		BLUMEN Sacha		BRIERLEY NEWTON De					
3/04/2011 14:55	Excluded 464 Votes		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded						
			<b>524</b> Votes		716 Votes		<b>5377</b> Votes		<b>7147</b> Votes		Votes		Votes		
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
BLUMEN Sacha (Labor)	5,247	24	5,271	42	5,313	64	5,377								
MADDEN Peter (Christian Democratic Party)	508	16	524												
PATTERSON Andrew	676	22	698	18	716										
BRIERLEY NEWTON De (The Greens)	5,961	25	5,986	6	5,992	146	6,138	1,009	7,147						
SHEN Victor (The Fishing Party)	464														
BARTELS Adrian (Liberal)	16,855	52	16,907	130	17,037	65	17,102	290	17,392	828	18,220				
MOORE Clover (Independent)	16,909	35	16,944	32	16,976	130	17,106	755	17,861	2,790	20,651		ELECTED		
Total Formal Votes	46,620	174	46,330	228	46,034	405	45,723	2,054	42,400	3,618	38,871				
Exhausted Votes		290	290	296	586	311	897	3,323	4,220	3,529	7,749				
Total Informal Votes	1,040		1,040		1,040		1,040		1,040		1,040				
Total Votes	47,660	464	47660	524	47660	716	47660	5377	47660	7147	47660				
Absolute Majority:	23,311		23,166		23,018		22,862		21,201		19,436				
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
MOORE Clover (Independent) will be elect	ed														
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signatur	e			Date									·
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			