2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a partial distribution of preferences.

Although a full distribution of preferences was not undertaken for this election, the final distribution of votes to the last two candidates in the count is as shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The TCP count can be taken as a definitive distribution as the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

<u> </u>	•		-10 01 01	-		0.0										
electoral commission NSW		Electoral D			Smithfield											
S		Election Day:			26 March 2011											
Current as at :	Count 1	Co	unt 2													
		POULARAS Manny														
4/04/2011 18:17		Excluded													N/viv	
		3680	Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes	
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	
POULARAS Manny																
(Christian Democratic Party)	3,680															
O'NEILL Astrid																
(The Greens)	3,818	446	4,264													
KHOSHABA Ninos																
(Labor)	17,323	379	17,702													
ROHAN Andrew																
(Liberal)	21,443	1,039	22,482		ELECTED											
Total Formal Votes	46,264	1,864	44,448													
Exhausted Votes	,	1,816														
Total Informal Votes	2,661	1,010	2,661													
Total Votes	48,925	3680														
Absolute Majority:	23,133		22,225]]						
		ı		•		•				•		•		•		
Congratulations, distribution complete.																
							1				1				1	
ROHAN Andrew (Liberal) will be elected																
provided no recount required.					1 1		Scrutineer Signature			J	Scrutineer Signature			l		
		Returning Officer Signatu	ire			Date	j.				1) I	
V																
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature			J	Scrutineer Signature			J	