## 2011 State General Election

## **Legislative Assembly**

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

## **Preferential Count explanation**

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB

ᇙ
Š
r.
뿠
ဟ

## **Distribution of Preferences Countsheet**

Shellharbour 26 March 2011 Count 1 Count 2 Count 3 Current as at : **DAKERS Jeff** MORAN Peter 4/04/2011 18:14 Excluded Excluded 2880 6956 Votes Votes Votes Votes Votes Votes Votes Candidates VOTES DISTRIBUTED PROGRESSIVE TOTALS VOTES DISTR MORAN Peter (The Greens) 6,700 256 6,956 MALLINSON Larissa (Liberal) 1,259 13,766 1,025 14,791 16,050 WATSON Anna (Labor) 1,951 20,459 327 20,786 22,737 **ELECTED** DAKERS Jeff (Christian Democratic Party) 2,880 1,608 3,210 38,787 **Total Formal Votes** 43,805 42,533 1,272 1,272 5,018 3,746 **Exhausted Votes** 2,160 2,160 2,160 **Total Informal Votes** 45,965 2880 45965 6956 45965 **Total Votes** 21,903 21,267 19,394 Absolute Majority: Congratulations, distribution complete. WATSON Anna (Labor) will be elected provided no recount required. 1 1 Scrutineer Signature Scrutineer Signature Returning Officer Signature Date

Scrutineer Signature

Scrutineer Signature