2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after the first preference count.

A full distribution of preferences was not undertaken and it is not possible to definitively state which two candidates would be the last two candidates in the count, should a distribution of preferences have been undertaken. The Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count can only be taken as a definitive distribution if the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

3

Commission NSW	Electoral District			Ryde											
S		Election Day:			26 March	2011									
Current as at :	Count 1														
4/04/2011 15:21															
			Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
DOMINELLO Victor (Liberal)	27,247		ELECTED												
TAGG Vic (Independent)	3,043														
LAXALE Jerome (Labor)	7,374														
SHAW Jimmy (The Greens)	3,969														
WORSLEY Julie (Christian Democratic Party)	1,774														
Total Formal Votes	43,407														
Exhausted Votes															
Total Informal Votes	1,236														
Total Votes	44,643														
Absolute Majority:	21,704]]							
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
DOMINELLO Victor (Liberal) will be elected	ed														
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signatu	re			Date									
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			