2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a partial distribution of preferences.

Although a full distribution of preferences was not undertaken for this election, the final distribution of votes to the last two candidates in the count is as shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The TCP count can be taken as a definitive distribution as the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



SE.523L

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

Electoral District
Parramatta
Election Day: 26 March 2011

Current as at :	Count 1	Count 2		Count 3		Count 4		Count 5							
5 4 5 45 41 .		AIKEN Robert		PARASKEVOPOULOS Kon		KATSOULAS Thomas		RODEN Duncan							
2/04/2011 20:13		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded							
		152	Votes	449	Votes	653	Votes	732	Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
RODEN Duncan															
(Socialist Alliance)	706	3	709	11	720	12	732								
	700	3	709		720	12	132								
McDERMOTT Michael															
(Independent)	3,282	9	3,291	50	3,341	29	3,370	164	3,534						
MAGEE Peter															
(Christian Democratic Party)															
(Omionali Belliotrano Farty)	1,674	1	1,675	9	1,684	42	1,726	26	1,752						
BRADLEY Phil															
(The Greens)	3,806	3	3,809	21	3,830	25	3,855	70	3,925						
	3,000	J	3,009	21	3,030	20	3,633	70	3,923						
ESBER Pierre															
(Labor)	12,425	4	12,429	23	12,452	39	12,491	28	12,519						
LEE Geoff															
(Liberal)															
(2.2.2.2.)	21,673	4	21,677	22	21,699	60	21,759	17	21,776		ELECTED				
KATSOULAS Thomas															
(Family First)	622	1	623	30	653										
	UZZ		023	30	000										
PARASKEVOPOULOS Kon															
(Independent)	438	11	449												
AIKEN Robert	152														
	152														
Total Formal Votes	44,778	36	44,662	166	44,379	207	43,933	305	43,506						
Exhausted Votes		116	116	283	399	446	845	427	1,272						
Total Informal Votes	1,753		1,753		1,753		1,753		1,753						
				449		653									
Total Votes	46,531	192	40031	449	40031	000	40031	132	40001						
										,					
Absolute Majority:	22,390		22,332		22,190		21,967		21,754						
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
###							1				1				
LEE Geoff (Liberal) will be elected															
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature			J	Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signatu	ire			Date	J				*				
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
											·				!