2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after the first preference count.

Although a full distribution of preferences was not undertaken for this election, the final distribution of votes to the last two candidates in the count is as shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The TCP count can be taken as a definitive distribution as the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB

SE.523L

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

Northern Tablelands 26 March 2011 Count 1 Current as at : 4/04/2011 15:10 Votes Votes Votes Votes Votes Votes Votes Candidates VOTES DISTRIBUTED PROGRESSIVE TOTALS VOTES DISTR TORBAY Richard (Independent) **ELECTED** 29,526 McCOWEN Charlie (Nationals) 13,199 FRAZIER Sarah (Labor) 1,580 SCHULTZ Pat (The Greens) 1,531 STRUTT Isabel (Christian Democratic Party) 736 46,572 **Total Formal Votes Exhausted Votes** 547 **Total Informal Votes** 47,119 **Total Votes Absolute Majority:** 23,287 Congratulations, distribution complete. TORBAY Richard (Independent) will be elected provided no recount required. Scrutineer Signature Scrutineer Signature Returning Officer Signature Date

Scrutineer Signature

Scrutineer Signature