## 2011 State General Election

## Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

## **Preferential Count explanation**

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

## **Distribution of Preferences Countsheet**

3

electoral		Electoral D	District		Marrickville										
S .		Election Day:				26 March 2011									
Current as at :	Count 1	Co	unt 2	Count 3		Count 4		Count 5		Count 6		Count 7			
2/04/2011 21:20		LIEM Jimmy Excluded 395 Votes		COGAN James Excluded 581 Votes		LAURENCE Kylie Excluded 595 Votes		QUEALY Paul Excluded 882 Votes		HINMAN Pip Excluded 981 Votes		TYLER Rosana Excluded 9131 Votes			
2/04/2011 21:20															Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
COGAN James	572	9	581												
BYRNE Fiona (The Greens)	16,395	24	16,419	141	16,560	22	16,582	141	16,723	482	17,205	1,165	18,370		
TEBBUTT Carmel (Labor)	17,413	28	17,441	31	17,472	51	17,523	87	17,610	141	17,751	1,295	19,046		ELECTED
TYLER Rosana (Liberal)	8,714	38	8,752	17	8,769	177	8,946	101	9,047	84	9,131				
LIEM Jimmy (Family First)	395														
LAURENCE Kylie (Christian Democratic Party)	531	57	588	7	595										
QUEALY Paul (Independent)	817	9			846	36	882								
HINMAN Pip (Socialist Alliance)	860	1		25					981						
Total Formal Votes	45,697	166	45,468	241	45,128	298	44,831	412	44,361	707	44,087	2,460	37,416		
Exhausted Votes		229	229	340	569	297	866	470	1,336	274	1,610	6,671	8,281		
Total Informal Votes	1,377		1,377		1,377		1,377		1,377		1,377		1,377		
Total Votes	47,074	395	47074	581	47074	595	47074	882	47074	981	47074	9131	47074		
Absolute Majority:	22,849		22,735		22,565		22,416		22,181		22,044		18,709		
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
TEBBUTT Carmel (Labor) will be elected															
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signatu	re			Date									
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			