2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



က
ાસ
12
띯

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

Electoral District Macquarie Fields
Election Day: 26 March 2011

Current as at :	Count 1	Cou	ınt 2	Co	unt 3	Cou	ınt 4	Cor	unt 5	Cou	ınt 6				
		McCAFFREY Simon			N Mick	CASHMAN BIII		GREEN Joshua		FRASER Nola					
2/04/2011 19:34		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded		Excluded					
		531	Votes	749	Votes	1804	Votes	2738	Votes	5303	Votes		Votes		Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
GREEN Joshua (Christian Democratic Party)	2,647	21	2,668	21	2,689	49	2,738								
ESKAROS Sam (Liberal)	16,727	64	16,791	32	16,823	83	16,906	663	17,569	941	18,510				
FRASER Nola (Independent)	4,738	29	4,767	118	4,885	166	5,051	252	5,303						
ALLEN Mick (Independent)	717	32	749												
McCAFFREY Simon	531														
CASHMAN Bill (The Greens)	1,744	17	1,761	43	1,804										
McDONALD Andrew (Labor)	18,157	45	18,202	33	18,235	373	18,608	220	18,828	798	19,626		ELECTED		
Total Formal Votes	45,261	208	44,938	247	44,436	671	43,303	1,135	41,700	1,739	38,136				
Exhausted Votes		323	323	502	825	1,133	1,958	1,603	3,561	3,564	7,125				
Total Informal Votes	2,356		2,356		2,356		2,356		2,356		2,356				
Total Votes	47,617	531	47617	749	47617	1804	47617	2738	47617	5303	47617				
Absolute Majority:	22,631		22,470		22,219		21,652		20,851		19,069				
. ,	,	'			,		,	ı	,		,	,		,	
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
McDONALD Andrew (Labor) will be electe	d														
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signatur	re			Date									
		- 0					·								
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			