2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

ы

electoral		Electoral D	District		Kiama										
S		Election Day:			26 March 2011										
Current as at :	Count 1	Co	unt 2	Co	unt 3	Col	unt 4	Co	unt 5						
	oount i	DALY Adrian		RYAN Steve		VAN DER WIJNGAART Ben		McCARTHY Sandra							
4/04/2011 13:19		Excluded 1576 Votes		Excluded 1841 Votes		Excluded 4246 Votes		Excluded 8098 Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes	
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED			PROGRESSIVE TOTALS						VOTES DISTRIBUTED		VOTES DISTRIBUTED		
WARD Gareth (Liberal)	19,898	179	20,077	876	20,953	231	21,184	1,846	23,030	ELECTED					
DALY Adrian (Independent)	1,576														
RYAN Steve (Christian Democratic Party)	1,805	36	1,841												
BROWN Matt (Labor)	13,366	127	13,493	131	13,624	792	14,416	2,636	17,052						
VAN DER WIJNGAART Ben (The Greens)	4,126	82	4,208	38	4,246										
McCARTHY Sandra (Independent)	6,009	306	6,315	139	6,454	1,644	8,098								
Total Formal Votes	46,780	730	45,934	1,184	45,277	2,667	43,698	4,482	40,082						
Exhausted Votes		846	846	657	1,503	1,579	3,082	3,616	6,698						
Total Informal Votes	1,091		1,091		1,091		1,091		1,091						
Total Votes	47,871	1576	47871	1841	47871	4246	47871	8098	47871						
Absolute Majority:	23,391]	22,968]	22,639		21,850]	20,042]]		
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
2															
WARD Gareth (Liberal) will be elected															
provided no recount required.						Ι Ι		Scrutineer Signature		 J	Scrutineer Signature			J	
		Returning Officer Signati	ire			Date	J			 I				1	
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature		 ļ	Scrutineer Signature			J	