2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after the first preference count.

A full distribution of preferences was not undertaken and it is not possible to definitively state which two candidates would be the last two candidates in the count, should a distribution of preferences have been undertaken. The Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count can only be taken as a definitive distribution if the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



(Labor)

(Liberal)

Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB



Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

Davidson 26 March 2011 Count 1 Current as at : 4/04/2011 14:33 Votes Votes Votes Votes Votes Votes Votes **Candidates** VOTES DISTRIBUTED PROGRESSIVE TOTALS VOTES DISTR GILLILAND Mathew 3,626 O'DEA Jonathan 33,112 **ELECTED OWEN Helen** (Independent) 1,380 CHAPMAN Peter (Christian Democratic Party) 924 DAVIS John (The Greens) 5,572 44,614 **Total Formal Votes Exhausted Votes** 936 Total Informal Votes 45,550 **Total Votes Absolute Majority:** 22,308 Congratulations, distribution complete. O'DEA Jonathan (Liberal) will be elected provided no recount required. Scrutineer Signature Scrutineer Signature Returning Officer Signature Date

Scrutineer Signature

Scrutineer Signature