## 2011 State General Election

## **Legislative Assembly**

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a full distribution of preferences.

There may be a small variation in the votes shown in the last two candidates in this count to that shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The Electoral Commissioner accepts these variations as an outcome of a manual count process where the variation has no material impact on the outcome of the election.

## **Preferential Count explanation**

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



SE.523L

## **Distribution of Preferences Countsheet**

Election Day: Cessnock
Election Day: 26 March 2011

Current as at :	Count 1	Count 1 Count 2		Count 3		Count 4		Count 5		Cor	ınt 6				
		RILEY Wayne Excluded		McCUDDEN Allan Excluded		STAPLEFORD Allan Excluded		RYAN James Excluded		TROY Dale Excluded					
8/11/2011 11:50															
		1598	Votes	2327	Votes	2558	Votes	4097	Votes	10688	Votes		Votes		Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
RILEY Wayne (Christian Democratic Party)	1,598														
DAVEY Alison (Nationals)	11,309	414	11,723	550	12,273	253	12,526	261	12,787	2,900	15,687				
STAPLEFORD Allan (Independent)	2,297	97	2,394	164	2,558										
BARR Clayton (Country Labor)	15,812	66	15,878	113	15,991	215	16,206	474	16,680	1,999	18,679		ELECTED		
McCUDDEN Allan (Independent)	2,284	43	2,327												
TROY Dale (Independent)	8,640	74	8,714	317	9,031	465	9,496	1,192	10,688						
RYAN James (The Greens)	3,913	45	3,958	57	4,015	82	4,097								
Total Formal Votes	45,853	739	44,994	1,201	43,868	1,015	42,325	1,927	40,155	4,899	34,366				
Exhausted Votes	10,000	859			·	1,543									
Total Informal Votes	2,240		2,240		2,240	,	2,240		2,240		2,240				
Total Votes	48,093		48093	2327	48093	2558	48093				48093				
												,			
Absolute Majority:	22,927	]	22,498		21,935		21,163		20,078		17,184			]	
, ,		,		ı			,	ı	·			,		,	
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
BARR Clayton (Country Labor) will be ele	cted														
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signatu	re			Date									Į.
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature	<u> </u>			Scrutineer Signature			<u> </u>