2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after the first preference count.

Although a full distribution of preferences was not undertaken for this election, the final distribution of votes to the last two candidates in the count is as shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The TCP count can be taken as a definitive distribution as the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

			. D G C I			0.0									
electoral commission NSW		Electoral District Election Day:			Burrinjuck										
S					26 March 2011										
Current as at :	Count 1														
4/04/2011 14:25		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes	
One Plate															
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
FYFE lain (The Greens)															
(The dicens)	3,574														
ZIVADINOVIC Luna															
(Labor)	6,653														
WOODS Ann															
(Christian Democratic Party)	1,262														
HODGKINSON Katrina															
(Nationals)	33,339		ELECTED												
Total Formal Votes	44,828														
Exhausted Votes															
Total Informal Votes	1,025														
Total Votes	45,853														
Absolute Majority:	22,415]]							
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
HODOKINGON Katalana (National III)							1				1				ĺ
HODGKINSON Katrina (Nationals) will be elected provided no recount required.						5 5 5				Can diagra Circulum					
provided no recount required.	Returning Officer Signature				/ / Date			Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
		recurring Onicer Signatu	ie			Date	1								
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB						Constinuer S			crutineer Signature			Scrutineer Signature			
The second secon											,				