## **2011 State General Election**

## Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a partial distribution of preferences.

Although a full distribution of preferences was not undertaken for this election, the final distribution of votes to the last two candidates in the count is as shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The TCP count can be taken as a definitive distribution as the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

## **Preferential Count explanation**

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

## **Distribution of Preferences Countsheet**

Commission NSW	I	Distr	ibuti	on of	f Pref	eren	ces (	Coun	tshe	et					
		Electoral D	District		Bankstown										
Ж		Election Day:			26 March 2011										
												•			
Current as at :	Count 1		unt 2		unt 3		unt 4								
4/04/2011 15:34		PHILLIP Excluded	S Richard	MICHEL Excluded	S Malikeh	ABDUL Excluded	LA Zarif								
		818	Votes	1701	Votes	1859	Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
MIHAILUK Tania (Labor)	19,327	48	19,375	320	19,695	150	19,845		ELECTED						
CHAHINE Bill (Liberal)	12,457	31				285									
KAY Rebecca (Independent)	2,709			108											
TAOUK Edmond (Independent)	2,703					224									
ABDULLA Zarif (Christian Democratic Party)	1,779						5,201								
PHILLIPS Richard	818		1,100		1,000										
MICHELS Malikeh (The Greens)	1,668		1,701												
Total Formal Votes	41,713	209	41,104	644	40.047	718	38,906								
Exhausted Votes		609	609	1,057	1,666	1,141	2,807								
Total Informal Votes	2,851		2,851		2,851		2,851								
Total Votes	44,564	818	44564	1701	44564	1859	44564								
Absolute Majority:	20,857		20,553		20,024		19,454	]		]		)		]	
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
MIHAILUK Tania (Labor) will be elected											ו				ן
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature			J	Scrutineer Signature			J
		Returning Officer Signatu	re			Date	l				-				1
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature			J	Scrutineer Signature			