2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after the first preference count.

A full distribution of preferences was not undertaken and it is not possible to definitively state which two candidates would be the last two candidates in the count, should a distribution of preferences have been undertaken. The Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count can only be taken as a definitive distribution if the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

	Distribution of Preferences Countsheet															
		Electoral District Election Day:			Ballina											
					26 March 2011											
Current as at :	Count 1															
4/04/2011 14:01																
		Votes		Votes		Votes			Votes	otes Votes		Votes		Votes		
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	
WILLIS Nathan (Family First)	835															
PAGE Don (Nationals)	24,054		ELECTED													
KOLBE Karin (Independent)	2,296															
WARNES Toby (Labor)	5,033															
RICHARDSON Simon (The Greens)	9,159															
KEMP Bruce (Christian Democratic Party)	847															
Total Formal Votes	42,224															
Exhausted Votes																
Total Informal Votes	886															
Total Votes	43,110															
Absolute Majority:	21,113]]								
Congratulations, distribution complete.																
PAGE Don (Nationals) will be elected																
provided no recount required.						1 1			Scrutineer Signature			Scrutineer Signature				
		Returning Officer Signature Date														
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB									Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			