2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after a partial distribution of preferences.

Although a full distribution of preferences was not undertaken for this election, the final distribution of votes to the last two candidates in the count is as shown in the Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count. The TCP count can be taken as a definitive distribution as the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.



က
્ર
гú
Щ
S

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

Electoral District
Auburn
Election Day: 26 March 2011

		20 Mai on 2011													
Current as at :	Count 1 Count 2 KENNETT Carolyn		unt 2	Count 3		Count 4		Cou	ınt 5						
					DAOUD Jamal		WALKER Raema		KIDDLE Michael						
2/04/2011 21:30		Excluded	-	Excluded		Excluded		Excluded							
		477 Votes		776 Votes		2371 Votes		3095 Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes	
		-11.1	70100	7.0	VOICE	2071	7000	0000	7000		70100		10100		70.00
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS
WALKER Raema (Christian Democratic Party)	2,323	14	2,337	34	2,371										
DAOUD Jamal (Independent)	759	17	776												
ATTIE Ned (Liberal)	14,159	22	14,181	47	14,228	527	14,755	253	15,008						
PERRY Barbara (Labor)	20,377	42	20,419	67	20,486	239	20,725	588	21,313		ELECTED				
KENNETT Carolyn	477														
MEHAJER Salim (Independent)	2,964	22	2,986	134	3,120	53	3,173	267	3,440						
KIDDLE Michael (The Greens)	2,969	33	3,002	20	3,022	73	3,095								
Total Formal Votes	44,028	150	43,701	302	43,227	892	41,748	1,108	39,761						
Exhausted Votes	44,020	327		474		1,479									
Total Informal Votes	2,318		2,318		2,318		2,318		2,318						
Total Votes	46,346	477	46346	776	46346	2371									
Absolute Majority:	22,015		21,851		21,614		20,875]	19,881]]			
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
PERRY Barbara (Labor) will be elected															
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			
Francisco de constitución de c	Returning Officer Signature Date							and a signal of			į.	and a signature			
		resuming officer algitation				Date	Į.				1				1
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature			J	Scrutineer Signature			J