2011 State General Election

Legislative Assembly

The Distribution of Preferences shown below identifies the candidate who has won the election after the first preference count.

A full distribution of preferences was not undertaken and it is not possible to definitively state which two candidates would be the last two candidates in the count, should a distribution of preferences have been undertaken. The Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) count can only be taken as a definitive distribution if the minor candidates have insufficient votes to change the TCP candidate selection.

Preferential Count explanation

The Preferential Count page displays a progressive count where a candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and his/her ballot papers are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the next available preference shown on the ballot paper.

To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than 50% + 1 of the total formal votes in the count. First, all the number "1" votes are counted for each candidate. These are called First Preference Votes. If a candidate has more than half the total of First Preference Votes, that candidate is elected.

If no candidate has more than half of the first preferences, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. That candidate's votes are moved on to the other candidates according to the second preference (the 2's) shown by the voters on that candidate's ballot papers. Ballot papers which only show a first preference vote are excluded and are not considered as part of the count. This process progresses excluding the candidate with the fewest votes until one candidate has more than half the total votes remaining in the count and is declared elected.

Distribution of Preferences Countsheet

Commission NSW		Distribution of Preferences Countsheet													
	Electoral District			Albury											
		Election Day:			26 March 2011										
Current as at :	Count 1							1							
5/04/2011 10:35			Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes		Votes
Candidates	First Preference Votes	VOTES DISTRIBUTED		VOTES DISTRIBUTED	PROGRESSIVE TOTALS	VOTES DISTRIBUTED									
BINGLE Stephen (Australian Democrats)	617														
AVASALU Rhonda (Christian Democratic Party)	1,101														
WAREHAM Paul (Independent)	6,276														
APLIN Greg (Liberal)	26,316		ELECTED												
HESSE Colin (The Greens)	2,188														
CAMERON Darren (Labor)	6,566														
Total Formal Votes	43,064														
Exhausted Votes															
Total Informal Votes	1,667														
Total Votes	44,731														
Absolute Majority:	21,533	l]]]							
Congratulations, distribution complete.															
APLIN Greg (Liberal) will be elected															
provided no recount required.						1 1		Scrutineer Signature	neer Signature			Scrutineer Signature			
		Returning Officer Signature Date													
Version 1.9.8 21/12/2010 PB								Scrutineer Signature				Scrutineer Signature			